National Symphony Orchestra: Amhránn na bhFiann

The Irish national anthem, played beautifully by the national orchestra. This is one of the most stirring renditions of Amhránn na bhFiann I have ever heard. Back in the 1970s/80s, this video was played at the end of the RTE1 programme schedule each night (no 24-hour service back then). I challenge you not to be moved by the combination of the poignant orchestra with the scenes of Irish nature.

4 Responses to “National Symphony Orchestra: Amhránn na bhFiann”

  1. Credo Says:

    Thanks for posting this.

  2. Craig Says:

    You’re welcome, credo. I saw that video for the first time when I was living and studying in France (2006-7) and I never forgot it.I wish they would bring this back to RTE. It’s a beautifully simple statement about love of one’s country and heritage.

  3. Mark Elliott Says:

    Now, THAT’S how you play a national anthem. The Irish are lucky in the sense that they have brilliant words attached to a lovely tune; Amhrann na bhFiann (no falas on my keyboard, I’m afraid! :P) is a brilliant piece of music, and that is a wonderful arrangement.(Stannis, you may not remember me, but you vaguely knew me as Arbiter Azariah on PoFo. Love your blog!)

  4. Craig Says:

    @mark: yes, I remember you! As I recall from the old days (when I fought many a word-battle) you and I had largely similar views. I recently went back to look at Pofo and leave a comment or two, but I don’t want to commit myself to re-entering that madhouse ;)Keep reading, keep commenting and I will also keep an eye on your blog.

Leave a comment